GUYANA – The land of Many Waters


Guyana, officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana, previously known as British Guiana, is a sovereign state on the northern coast of South America that is culturally part of the Anglophone Caribbean. Historically, the region known as “Guiana” or “Guayana” comprised the large shield landmass north of the Amazon River and east of the Orinoco River known as the “Land of many waters”. Guyana was a former colony of the Dutch and (for over 200 years) of the British.

Country Name: Co-operative Republic of Guyana
Capital City : Georgetown
Counties: Essequibo, Berbice and Demerara
Nationality: Guyanese
Official Language: English

Independence: May 26 1966
National Holiday: Republic Day, February 23 (Since 1970)
National Bird: Hoatzin or the Canje Pheasant (Opisthocomus hoatzin)
National Flower: Victoria Regia/Amazonica

Area: 83,000 sq. mi. (215,000 sq. km)
Population: 750,000
Ethnic Groups: East Indian, African, European, Amerindian, Portuguese and Chinese
Religions: Christianity, Hinduism and Islam

Government Type: Republic
International Airports: 1. Cheddi Jagan International Airport – Timehri  2. Eugene F. Correia International Airport, Ogle
Currency: Guyana Dollar
Time Zone: GMT – 4 hoursIt is the only state of the Commonwealth of Nations on mainland South America, and it is also a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which has its secretariat headquarters in Guyana’s capital, Georgetown. Guyana is also known for being one of only two Caribbean countries that is not an island, the next country being Belize. Guyana achieved independence from the United Kingdom on 26 May 1966, and became a Republic on 23 February 1970. At 215,000 km2, Guyana is the third-smallest independent state on the mainland of South America (after Uruguay and Suriname). Its population is approximately 770,000.


Day Tours
Package Tours
Resorts & Lodges

All prices are quoted in US dollars
“Our online booking system is not currently in operation. We apologize for any inconvenience.”